Announcement, News

[Announcement!] I’m Publishing a Light Novel!

d3c3b0b5570b6727b33dad8883feeb2dHi, guys. It has been a turbulent couple of weeks, but I’m finally back on my blog where I belong, and I want to start by saying that I promise to consistently blog from now on. You wouldn’t believe how much stress is relieved when I blog from time to time. In any case, I didn’t intend to write about this trivial stuff. I want to announce that I will be publishing my upcoming light novel, Final Arcane, and kind of give everyone a catch up on what I have been doing. Brace yourselves, this is gonna be a long one!

What I’ve Been up To

untitled

I believe that last time I posted on this blog was sometime in May. That was nearly three months ago, and yeah, it’s ridiculous. However, I had a viable excuse for this one. As you all know or may not know, I have been trying to break into professional anime writing for about a while now, and I have succeeded in that. However, I did hit a setback after the death of a loved one, but I’m back and better than ever.

One day in July, I was watching My Hero Academia, by the way it is the best anime series out right now, and a few wild ideas flooded my head. I actually thought to myself: What if my idea became an anime show? Crazy, right? I’m sure everyone thinks that from time to time, but the effort, time, and money that has to spent as an investment is immeasurable.

In short, creating an anime series is a bleak dream for anyone who isn’t serious about it. Though, this thought brought me closer to what I am doing now.

I’m Publishing a Light Novel!

8060451224_52a1dc7809_o

After doing my research on how anime is created, distributed, and published, I did more comprehensive research on marketing data, and blah blah blah. Long story short, I spent a week doing research and calculating the odds of actually creating an anime show in my head. The best I could come up with is probably a 50/50 chance if you’re really lucky, but that didn’t stop me.

At any rate, I stopped all of the research and began to just do me. I wrote a 141 page novella, and titled it Final Arcane. After reading it to myself a bit, I said to myself: This is the best thing I have ever written. I’m not exaggerating. I felt so good about what I wrote, and on that day, I made a vow to release this light novel to the world.

Obviously, if you do a quick search on Google, you will see things such as: It’s impossible to publish an English light novel in this day and age, or: It’s impossible to sell any light novel without an extensive plan, even if you’re lucky, or infamously: Who’s gonna read it!?

I could go on and on about some platitudes on how Bill Gates, or Steve Jobs, or Nelson Mandela defied all of the odds and “insurmountable obstacles” to achieve what no one thought could be done. However, I won’t. After reading what I wrote in my brief period of solitude, I firmly believe that this light novel is the real deal, and I’m willing to put this to the test, beyond anything I ever done.

The Reason Why I Want to Do This

b39a0e090dc3e47848e8a42834f34804

The main reason why I want to publish Final Arcane is because of the joy that I had while writing it. It took me three days to write the whole light novel. I literally couldn’t stop writing, and so many ideas came to my head. Honestly, I wouldn’t mind writing like that for the rest of my life because it is so enjoyable.

For all of the bloggers out there, I’m sure that you know just how rewarding it is to write on stuff that you like. Heck, that’s why you’re blogging in the first place. I love anime, manga, light novels, and Japanese culture collectively. However, writing my own light novel is an experience that I will always remember. This isn’t for money, fame, or any other frivolous thing. I want to publish Final Arcane to release my work to the world.

I’m sure that there are others out there who will love Final Arcane. Then again, maybe not. However, how will I know until I try, right?

How I Plan to Publish

shana 2

Of course, I did a lot of research on light novels, and the famous authors who create them. About 99.9% of light novel authors are Japanese. However, a Brazilian man by the name of Thiago Furukawa Lucas, who is commonly known as Yuu Kamiya, wrote and illustrated his own light novel series. His light novel series, popularly known as No Game No Life, became one of the best-selling light novels in the world.

Heck, even singer Courtney Love created her own manga series, Princess Ai, which became a hit in Japan. What am I saying here? If you got it, you got it. It doesn’t matter who you are.

With that said, I plan on receiving help and assistance from my friend, colleagues, and respected people in the publishing niche. In essence, I plan to go all out!

What is Final Arcane About?

light-novel-shop-2Final Arcane is an action-adventure, shonen-style, comedy, and romance light novel centered around the world of Arcania, and the guilds that reside there. I know, I just named probably the best genres of anime. Anyway, 500 years ago, Arcania used to be a world where humans and spirits got along. Spirits were adept at using the Goddesses’ power, which was magic. However, humans did not have this ability and settled on the Goddesses’ inherited physical and mental quirks.

As time went on, the Spirits began to teach the Humans magic. This proved to be a fatal mistake as the Humans went on to become volatile and power-hungry. Soon, the humans eradicated the Spirits and began to militarize Arcania, turning the lush paradise into a blood-stained war zone.

Long story short, one kingdom rose from all of this violence. That was the kingdom of Nubes, led by the unrivaled Queen Lexus. In order to cement her power as a Goddess, she created an immortal beast, it was named Kudgen. The Goddesses were insulted by this act, and created a sorcerer named Damon who would strike her down. In the end, Damon succeeded and sealed Kudgen deep within the Earth so that he could never rampage again.

In the aftermath, Damon made sure that magic was forgotten among the humans, and created a system to govern, known as the Five Points Guild. The Five Points Guild was a system of five chief guilds, led by a Tribunal Council, who would govern Arcania and its people.

As time progressed, the Five Points Guild became corrupt. Their ineffectiveness caused a violent stir in Arcania, as more and more people revolted against them each day. However, one glimmer of hope rested in the Five Points Guild’s most incapable guild, Grandine. Not only is Grandine a laughingstock, but the guild is infamous for it’s relatively weak members.

Meanwhile, the descendants of Damon, known as the Amethyst, can still use magic in a world where humans still thirst for it. Little does everyone know that the Amethyst is among them, and the Five Points Guild will stop at nothing to get her.

The story of Final Arcane follows Torus, a dim-witted swordsman of Grandine, as he and his guild try to protect the Amethyst from the hands of their employer, the Five Points Guild. Not only is the odds stacked against them, but the whole world is on the other side.

Whew, I knew that would be long. Sorry, I get so caught up with the story, I can’t help but explain it to the fullest. At any rate, this is the book that I plan to publish. Using my Cloud Nine Media imprint, I plan on publishing this light novel and other authors who have the same passion that I do. As I see it, just like the philosophies of Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, and Nelson Mandela, this idea is new and has its risks.

Yuji_shana

For example, what Japanese filmmaker ventures to Hollywood to make an American-styled film? Who I ask you, who? Well, just ask Akira Kurosawa and these other guys. What I’m saying is that anything is possible if you chase after it relentlessly. I really feel as if I have a good idea here, an idea that others will love as well. So, I’m going to chase after this dream of mine relentlessly until it is achieved.

That sure was lengthy. Please like this post if you enjoyed it, and comment if you have anything you want to add. Thanks, everyone! I plan to post consistently, and you’ll be getting more info on Final Arcane for sure in the future!

Leave a Reply

