Anime, Feature

Shakugan no Shana Season 1: First Impressions

Movie4.png

I know I’m late, but I just started watching Shakugan no Shana yesterday. I finished up the first season in about six hours, and I’m officially hooked. Shakugan no Shana is a bit different than most of the anime series I have seen in my life.

For one, the girls rule. Seriously, Shana is a beast and I can’t really think of a major male character who has caught my attention in the strength department. Then again, I only saw the first season. Anyway, at the beginning of the show, I was a bit caught off guard by how normal Yuji was.

Indeed, he was a normal teenager in a time where there was so danger, but when told that he had a treasure inside of him, he continually relied on Shana to a fault. Even towards the end, he never really got stronger. He only helped Shana out with his insight in battle. That caused him to nearly die at the hands of the enemy three times.

images

As for the other characters, well they are pretty useless. Satou and Eita are just the henchmen of Margery, the drunk flame haze that they strangely follow to the ends of the Earth. Kazumi Yoshida is the typical female character in the anime series. She has a crush on Yuji but is too shy to tell him, and when she finally does, he doesn’t really say anything.

One thing that actually ticks me off about anime is the love triangles. From watching the first season, I knew that Shana loved Yuji and Yoshida does too. However, these type of things make me cringe because I just know that someone is going to get let down. In any case, I’m rooting for Shana!

Yuji’s mom is a stereotypical mom in anime who doesn’t care if Shana spends a lot of time with Yuji, stay late at their house, and beat him up. She’s about the only character that Shana isn’t really rude to. She knows just well as I that you have to treat your in-laws with respect. In any case, I’m rooting for you Shana!

download

Don’t get me wrong. I love this show. So, I can be really critical on the parts that I do or do not like. However, one thing I am well fond of is the battles. Shana is probably one of the strongest female characters in anime. She’s calm, experienced, and as tough as nails.

She makes female protagonists look cool, and that’s a good thing in this time. Moreover, I have actually been really impressed with her battles with Friagne, Tiriel and Sorath, and Hecate. Even though she was outmatched, she still came out on top like a boss. She even gets stronger when Yuji is present, so I’m kind of excited to see what will happen in the second season.

At the end of the first season, Shana tells Yuji that she loves him after being conflicted with her feelings for him. I found this cute but irritating. Yuji acted clueless the whole time, even after Shana took a blade to the gut for him! Then, of course, they made up. Ike, Yuji’s best friend, told Yuji that he wants to pursue Yoshida, and Yuji just smiles.

Yuji_shana

Poor, clueless, Yuji. Well, I’m convinced that I’m in for a ride now that I will be watching the second season later today. I can’t wait to actually see what unfolds next so I can criticize it in next week’s post. Be sure to like, share, and subscribe if you liked this post. Also, give your thoughts in the comments section of what you think about this post.

Leave a Reply

